Clément Cogitore

cogitore_photo_bio.jpg

Clément Cogitore is a French artist whose film-making and photography explore the potent questions of how images are made and their active role in human constructions. He is the first winner of the Prix LE BAL for Young Talent, in association with ADAGP. 

After graduating from the Strasbourg School of Art & Design (Ecole Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg), and the Fresnoy National Studio for Contemporary Arts (Studio national des arts contemporains), Clément Cogitore developed his own way of working which combines film and contemporary art. A mix of films, videos, installations and photos, his work highlights the relationship we maintain with the ritualistic aspects of the sacred by looking at the world and its mysteries: the original darkness of the cinema marries the secrecy of the night in our actions and gestures. His thought-provoking work investigates our own visibility and awareness of man’s place in the world he has created, and his political strong hold in the spaces he designs.  In 2015, his first feature film Ni le ciel Ni la terre [Neither Heaven nor Earth] enacted, through fiction, the metaphysical quest for meaning in a world at war. With this in mind, he takes us on a journey of discovery to Braguino ou la communauté impossible [Braguino or the impossible Community] where Cogitore describes the tipping point between the boundaries of civilisation and faith.
A former resident of the Académie de France at the Rome Villa Medici, his films have been selected at several international festivals (Cannes, Locarno, Lisbonne, Montreal...) and have won numerous awards. His work has also been exhibited at the Palais de Tokyo, and Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, and the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin, as well as the Boston Museum of Fine Arts and the MoMA in New-York. In 2015 he made his first feature film.
His first feature Ni le ciel Ni la terre [Neither Heaven nor Earth] was recently awarded the Prix de la Fondation Gan at the Cannes Film Festival - Semaine de la Critique, and nominated for the César for the Best First Film. In the same year, he was awarded the Prix Le BAL for Young Talent in association with the ADAGP. In 2016, he was also awarded the Prix Science Po for contemporary art and the 18th Prix de la Fondation d’Entreprise Ricard for Contemporary Art. In July 2017, his film Braguino was awarded a Special Mention for the Grand Prix in the International Competition at the FIDMarseille.
Clément Cogitore was born in Colmar in 1983, and currently lives and works in Paris. He has been represented by Galerie Eva Hober (Paris) since 2016 and by Galerie Reinhard Hauff (Stuttgart) since 2015.

Share

Related

Clément Cogitore

Braguino or the impossible community

From September 15 to December 23, 2017

Clément Cogitore

cogitore_photo_bio.jpg

Clément Cogitore est un artiste français dont le travail cinématographique et photographique porte en lui un puissant questionnement sur la fabrication des images et la part active de leurs apparitions dans les constructions humaines.
Il est le premier lauréat du Prix LE BAL de la Jeune Création avec l'ADAGP.

Après des études à l’Ecole Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg, et au Fresnoy - Studio national des arts contemporains, Clément Cogitore développe une pratique à mi-chemin entre cinéma et art contemporain. Mêlant films, vidéos, installations et photographies, son travail met en scène le rapport que nous pouvons entretenir au sacré, à sa dimension ritualisée, dans et par un regard porté sur le monde et son énigme : la nuit originelle du cinéma rejoint la nuit secrète de nos faits et gestes. Son oeuvre est donc à la fois porteuse d’une réflexion sur la visibilité, la place de l’homme dans le monde qu’il façonne, et son ancrage politique dans les espaces qui le conditionnent. Ainsi, en 2015, son premier long métrage Ni le ciel Ni la terre mettait en scène, par la fiction, une quête métaphysique de sens dans un monde en guerre. C’est dans cette perspective qu’il faut aussi découvrir Braguino ou la communauté impossible : Cogitore décrit des points de bascule entre des seuils de civilisation et de croyance.
Ancien pensionnaire de l’Académie de France à Rome-Villa Médicis, ses films ont été sélectionnés dans des festivals internationaux (Cannes, Locarno, Lisbonne, Montréal...) et ont été récompensés à plusieurs reprises. Son travail a également été exposé au Palais de Tokyo, au Centre Georges Pompidou, à la Haus der Kulturen der Welt de Berlin, ou encore au Museum of fine arts de Boston et au MoMA de New-York. En 2015 son premier long-métrage
Ni le ciel Ni la terre a été récompensé par le Prix de la Fondation Gan au Festival de Cannes – Semaine de la critique et nommé pour le César du meilleur premier film. La même année, il reçoit le Prix LE BAL de la Jeune Création avec l’ADAGP. En 2016, il est également lauréat du Prix Science Po pour l’art contemporain et du 18e Prix de la Fondation d’Entreprise Ricard pour l’art contemporain. En juillet 2017, son film Braguino a reçu la mention spéciale du Grand Prix de la compétition internationale du FIDMarseille.
Clément Cogitore est né à Colmar en 1983, il vit et travaille à Paris. Il est représenté par la galerie Eva Hober (Paris) depuis 2016, et par la galerie Reinhard Hauff (Stuttgart) depuis 2015.

Partager

En lien

Clément Cogitore

Braguino ou la communauté impossible

Du 15 septembre au 23 décembre 2017