Barbara Probst - The Moment In Space

couverture_.jpg

OPENING WITH THE INAUGURAL Exposure #1, WHERE BARBARA PROBST JUMPS ON A NEW YORK ROOF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, THE MOMENT IN SPACE, CO-EDITED BY LE BAL AND HARTMANN BOOKS, RETRACES 20 YEARS OF THE GERMAN PHOTOGRAPHER'S WORK AT THE CROSSROADS OF GENRES, FROM PORTRAIT TO STILL LIFE, FROM LANDSCAPE TO STUDIO SHOTS.
 

Designed by graphic designer Pierre Hourquet, the flexible book displays these enigmatic series over 120 pages and a section of five leaflets. Scattered throughout the book, diagrams and models made by the artist allow to get as close as possible to her intention and to invest the sensory and technical depth behind each image.
In his essay All at once, Frédéric Paul explores the conceptual and theoretical context of Barbara Probst's work, describing the meticulous implementation of her device, the realization of the Exposures series, and the grid they impose on our experience of the image. Exposures are mental puzzles to be recomposed. The viewer is invited to investigate so as to mentally reconstruct a possible version of the moment.
 

 

 

Buy the book

34€
LE BAL/Hartmann Books
23,5 x 30 cm
120 pages
158 illustrations
French/English
Essay: Frédéric Paul
Design : Pierre Hourquet (Temple)

Share

Related

BARBAra probst

The moment in space

May 10 - August 25, 2019

Go further

Barbara Probst - The Moment In Space

couverture_.jpg

S’ouvrant sur la série inaugurale Exposure #1, où Barbara Probst saute sur un toit new-yorkais au milieu de la nuit, The Moment in Space, co-édité par LE BAL et Hartmann à l’occasion de l’exposition au BAL, retrace 20 ans de travail de la photographe allemande à la croisée des genres, du portrait à la nature morte, du paysage au studio.

Conçu par le graphiste Pierre Hourquet, l’ouvrage souple déploie ces énigmatiques séries sur 120 pages et un volet de cinq dépliants. Disséminés au fil du livre, des schémas et maquettes réalisés par l’artiste permettent de s’approcher au plus près de son intention et d’investir la profondeur sensorielle et technique derrière chaque image.

Dans son essai inédit Tout à coup, Frédéric Paul explore le contexte conceptuel et théorique du travail de Barbara Probst, décrivant la minutieuse mise en place de son dispositif, la réalisation des Exposures et la grille de lecture spatiale qu’elles imposent à notre expérience de l’image. Celle-ci devient un puzzle mental à recomposer. Le spectateur est invité à enquêter pour reconstruire mentalement une version possible de l’instant.

 

 

Acheter le livre

Biographie

Barbara Probst est née en 1964 à Munich, en Allemagne, et a étudié à l’Akademie der Bildenden Künste de Munich et à la Kunstakademie de Düsseldorf. 

En savoir plus

LE BAL/Hartmann Books
23,5 x 30 cm
120 pages
158 illustrations
Français/Anglais
Texte : Frédéric Paul
Graphisme : Pierre Hourquet (Temple)

Partager

En lien

BARBAra probst

The moment in space

10 mai- 25 août 2019

Aller plus loin